Simple Design Enhancements

Recently, I was challenged to take a previous card project and step up the design with a few simple changes.  Now in the normal course of things, I continue to fiddle with the design until it is pleasing — which is why I love every card I make.  But, this challenge requires taking a card that I’m already happy with and changing up the design!

Here is the original, masculine card I designed using a striking color combination of Whisper White, Basic Black and Bermuda Bay and using “One Wild Ride” stamp set from Stampin’ Up!  This card is actually one of the masculine cards from the gift set of home-made cards that I gave to my mother to use throughout the year.  I’m sure that one of my nephews will love receiving it later this year!

2017-01-02-09-27-17

With a few changes, I was able to step up the design using some metallic embellishments from the “Urban Underground” from the new SU Occasions catalog and some foil tape from Home Depot.  The hexagon nuts and the foil tape add some dimension and interest which complements the masculine design.   So, I was able to add some bling without making it girly!  LOL!

2017-01-02 11.52.02.jpg

How to Use Foil Tape

My up-line, Sherry Herzing, taught me this trick of using an $8 roll of HVAC Foil Tape to add dimension and to create intest on a card.  The foil tape is about 1 7/8 inches wide with a paper backing.  I peeled off the paper backing to expose the adhesive and mounted the foil tape on 2 ½ inch wide scrap of Basic Black cardstock, leaving a thin black border on either side of the foil tape.  And taking care to carefully align the piece inside the SU “Arrows” embossing folder, I ran it through my Big Shot Machine to create another metallic embellishment that looks like a tire tread.

2017-01-02 09.29.28.jpg  2017-01-02 11.43.39.jpg  2017-01-02 11.43.58.jpg  2017-01-02 11.49.34.jpg

It was fun to make a few changes to step up my original design.  I’m sure that the recipient will love receiving either card!  Please leave a comment and let me know which card you liked best — the original (on the left) or the simple design changes (on the right).

2017-01-02-09-27-17  2017-01-02-11-52-02

I look forward to seeing how you step up one of your designs with a few simple changes.

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

