6 Reasons Why I Love Card Making

blog-6-reasons-why-i-love-card-making

If you know me, you know that I love all types of crafting.  My mother started my love of crafting as a little girl.  We colored elaborate chalk pictures on the driveway.  We made Christmas ornaments out of fabric scraps, sequins, straight pins and styrofoam balls.  We used coloring books as patterns to hand-stitch little stuffed animals out of colorful felt. She made all my clothes and costumes.  By the time I was 12 years old, I was making my own clothes, too.  As I got older, I expanded my interests to cross-stitching, scrapbooking, flower arranging, jewelry making, seasonal decorating, knitting, crocheting, and making stained glass. So, I have lots of hobbies and interests, but I always, always stamp and make cards.  It is something that I just really enjoy doing and I have been stamping now for more than 15 years.   

My family and friends probably realized how much I enjoyed stamping before I did.  And, today, I finally realized why….

Card making is all about my relationship with the recipient!

  1. A homemade card is a hug with a fold; even when mailed from hundreds of miles away the affection is heartfelt by the sender and the recipient.
  2. It is a simple kindness that has the power to turn an ordinary day into something extraordinary for someone –  because they feel special and appreciated instantly.
  3. It is tangible and leaves a lasting impression. You may or may not remember who sent you a Facebook post with birthday wishes.  But you will definitely remember who took the time to hand craft a card!  You will look at the card, touch it, study it and be amazed that some cared enough to make something just for you!  And, because of that you keep that card!
  4. It is a hobby that can be shared with every person I know or could possibly meet – family, friends, acquaintances and even strangers. While I also enjoy scrapbooking, knitting, crocheting, cross-stitch and stained-glass, there are limits to just how many projects I can personally use or could possibly make for others.   Card sentiments and few well-chosen words are always appreciated.
  5. It is the perfect gift – one size fits all! It is appropriate for every occasion with no strings attached – birthdays, congratulations, appreciation, encouragement, holiday greetings, sympathy, etc.
  6. And finally, it makes me a better friend, someone who truly cares about others. No matter what someone is going through – good times or bad – I’ve got a card for that. 

So those are the six reasons why I love card making.  So, now it is your turn.  Why do you love card making?  I look forward to hearing why card making is important to you.

Until next time, happy crafting!

Lisa

 

Leave a Reply

